Court Rules

Newport News Circuit Court, Virginia Filing Fees and Waivers

3 rules from official source documents

Filing fees, payment methods, fee waiver requirements, deferrals, and clerk payment rules.

CRITICALCriminal cases

Fee
$50
Applies to
Court payment plan

Payments are as follows: $50/month with a down payment. If fines and costs owed are $500 or less, down payment is 10% of such amount owed or, if amount owed is more than $500, the down payment will be 5% of such amount or $50, whichever is greater.

Payments are as follows: $50/month with a down payment. If fines and costs owed are $500 or less, down payment is 10% of such amount owed or, if amount owed is more than $500, the down payment will be 5% of such amount or $50, whichever is greater.

WARNINGCriminal cases

Applies to
Court payment plan payment

Payments may be made in cash, by money order, qualifying personal check, credit card, or online; a 2% convenience fee applies to credit-card payments.

Acceptable Methods of Payment Cash Money Order Personal Check (VA Bank) VISA/MasterCard AMEX/Discover (2% convenience fee applies) Online at https://eapps.courts.state.va.us/fmsOnline

WARNINGCriminal cases

Applies to
Circuit court account collection fee

Accounts defaulting after July 1, 2013 incur a 17% collection fee on unpaid principal, except that the fee is not added for a plan established before default unless the payer fails out of the plan.

All Circuit Court accounts that default after July 1, 2013 incur a 17% collection fee on the unpaid principal balance. If you are placed on our plan prior to having defaulted the 17% collections fee will not be added unless you fail out of the plan.

Common questions about Newport News Circuit Court, Virginia filing fees and waivers rules

Are filing fees or waivers addressed in Newport News Circuit Court, Virginia?

A fee is required for covered filings. Payments are as follows: $50/month with a down payment. If fines and costs owed are $500 or less, down payment is 10% of such amount owed or, if amount owed is more than $500, the down payment will be 5% of such amount or $50, whichever is greater.

View ruleOfficial source Source: page 6, section PAYMENT PLAN INFORMATION SHEET

2 more rules answer this question.